Board of Trustees

The Higher Education Center (HEC) is governed by a Board of Trustees that includes six members of the Virginia General Assembly; eight university presidents; two Agency Heads, and seven citizen members appointed by the Governor. The Executive Director/Agency Head of the Higher Education Center reports to the Board of Trustees and the Virginia Secretary of Education. The Board of Trustees meets twice a year in June and December.

Legislative Members

Senator Charles W. Carrico, Sr., 40th District
Senator A. Benton “Ben” Chafin, Jr., 38th District
Delegate Terry G. Kilgore, 1st District
Delegate James W. “Will” Morefield, 3rd District
Delegate Israel D. O’Quinn, 5th District
Delegate Joseph R. Yost, 12th District

Citizen Members

Saul Hernandez (Technology), Bristol, VA
Christine P. Kinser, Tazewell, VA
Steven C. Cochran, Blacksburg, VA
Lindy White , Johnson City, TN

*Three new members will be appointed by the Governor*

Higher Education Members

Timothy Sands, President, Virginia Tech
Jake Schrum, President, Emory & Henry
John Broderick, President, Old Dominion University
Penelope W. Kyle, President, Radford University
Teresa Sullivan, President, University of Virginia
Donna Henry, Chancellor, University of Virginia’s College at Wise
Gene Couch, Jr., President, Virginia Highlands Community College
Peter Blake, Director, State Council of Higher Education
Marcia Gilliam, Chancellor Appointed, Virginia Community College System

Ex-Officio Members

David Olive, Bluefield, VA


Board of Trustees Agendas & Minutes

June 2014 Agenda Minutes
December 2013 Agenda Minutes
June 2013 Agenda Minutes
December 2012 Agenda Minutes
June 2012 Agenda Minutes
December 2011 Agenda Minutes
June 2011 Agenda Minutes
December 2010 Agenda Minutes
June 2010 Agenda Minutes
December 2009 Agenda Minutes
June 2009 Agenda Minutes
December 2008 Agenda Minutes
June 2008 Agenda Minutes
December 2007 Agenda Minutes
June 2007 Agenda Minutes
December 2006 Agenda Minutes
June 2006 Agenda Minutes
December 2005 Agenda Minutes
June 2005 Agenda Minutes
December 2004 Agenda Minutes
June 2004 Agenda Minutes
December 2003 Agenda Minutes
June 2003 Agenda Minutes
December 2002 Agenda Minutes
June 2002 Agenda Minutes
December 2001 Agenda Minutes